Pardot Knowledge Base

Deleting Prospects

Last Updated: Jul 08, 2016 | Print this Article
 

There are several ways to delete a prospect. This article will review the different methods for deleting prospects, describe what happens to the prospects once they're deleted, and explain how syncing with the CRM might be affected.

Note: Deleting a prospect in Pardot will not delete the record it's syncing to in Salesforce.

Deleting an Individual Prospect

If you're viewing an individual prospect record, you can use the Delete link above the prospect details to send the prospect to the Recycle Bin:

Delete an individual prospect

Deleting prospects using a list

To delete prospects using a particular list, you can use a table action:

  1. Go to your list by navigating to Marketing > Segmentation > Lists.
  2. Click on the name of your list.
  3. Mark the boxes on the left side of the table to select the prospects you want to delete.
  4. Select Delete from the dropdown, then click Go.
    Delete prospects from a list

Note: If you want to delete ALL prospects on a list, mark the box at the top of the table, then click Select all xx entries in this table before following step 4.

Delete all in table

The prospects you delete will be removed from the list and placed in the Recycle Bin. Note: Deleting the list itself will not cause your prospects to be deleted.

Deleting prospects using the Prospect Table

You can mass delete from the Prospect Table by taking the following steps:
  1. Navigate to the Prospect Table under Prospects > Prospect List.
  2. Mark the boxes on the left side of the table to select the prospects you want to delete.
  3. Select Delete from the dropdown, then click Go.
00000721

What happens when a prospect is deleted?

When a prospect is deleted they are moved to the Recycle Bin (which you can view by navigating to Admin > Recycle Bin). There are several things that happen when a prospect is deleted:
  • Deleted prospects do not appear in any Pardot reports. If they are undeleted, they will appear in reports again. Please note that this will not affect the report's original numbers. For example: if an email report had 10 HTML opens, and you delete 5 of those prospects, the email report will still show 10 HTML opens.
  • Page visits, email opens and clicks, and tracked link clicks that happen after the prospect was deleted will continue to appear in prospect activities, but will not undelete prospects.
  • Page actions will not be triggered for deleted prospects. The page views will appear in the prospect's activities, however.
  • If the deleted prospect has an associated record in the CRM and the record is updated and synced via the CRM, then the prospect will not be undeleted in Pardot.
  • Prospects in the Recycle Bin do not count towards your mailable prospects.

What will undelete a prospect?

The prospect record can be restored manually* by clicking Undelete in the Recycle Bin or automatically in a couple of different ways:

  • If the deleted prospect is imported into Pardot with the same email address or CRM ID that is associated with their existing record, you have the option to undelete the record from the Recycle Bin so it appears in the Prospects List again. The Un-delete matching prospects found in the recycle bin during this import option is on step 4 of the Import wizard. If you want to leave the prospects in the Recycle bin, do not mark this option.
  • If your account does not allow multiple prospects with the same email address, and you manually add a prospect with the same email address as a deleted prospect, the record will be removed from the Recycle Bin and will appear in the Prospects List again.
  • If your account does not allow multiple prospects with the same email address, and the deleted prospect submits a form with the same email address that was associated with their record before, the record will be undeleted from the Recycle Bin and will appear again in the Prospects List again. If your account does allow multiple prospects with the same email address, Pardot will attribute the activity to the most recently active unarchived prospect with the same email address, and will only unarchive a prospect if there are no active prospects with the same email address. See What happens when a prospect is reimported or resubmits a form? for complete details.
  • If a deleted prospect still has their original tracking cookie and clicks a custom redirect, they will be undeleted from the Recycle Bin and will appear in the Prospects List again.
  • If a deleted prospect still has their original tracking cookie and downloads a non-image file (like a PDF, Word Document, or .ics file), they will be undeleted from the Recycle Bin and will appear in the Prospects List again.
  • If the deleted prospect has an associated record in the CRM, Pardot will undelete a record (that's assigned) when you click Send to Pardot or the record is emailed, or added to a list using the Add to Pardot List in a Salesforce Campaign. Note that adding a deleted prospect to a list using the List Membership Visualforce page will not undelete them.

* If you manually restore a prospect from the Recycle Bin, a sync needs to be triggered for them to sync with the CRM again. See What causes a prospect record to sync with the CRM? for a full list of what will trigger a sync.

Not what you're looking for? Check out these other articles:
Deleting a User
What should I do with "bad prospects" that provide false data?

Need more? Start a conversation with other Pardot users in our Success Community