Pardot Knowledge Base

Saving Emails and Templates

Last Updated: May 02, 2016 | Print this Article
 

There are a few different ways changes are saved in Email Flow: snapshots, Publish to Template, Save Draft and Save. They all serve different purposes, and this article explains what each type of save does. Whether you are working on a template or an email affects how you'll need to save.

Note: If your team has several people who work on the same drafts of templates or emails, see this article for team editing best practices and troubleshooting

Saving Emails

Snapshots

Snapshot saved every 30 seconds updates your current open session with changes every 30 seconds. This does NOT commit your changes to the email draft, but adds them to your recent snapshots for your session. + add snapshot adds a snapshot of your recent changes to your open session. You can add a snapshot manually by clicking History > + add snapshot. This does NOT commit your changes to the email.

Snapshots do NOT commit your changes to the actual email draft -- they are locally saved. If you are ready to commit your changes to your email, use Save. This video shows you how to access your snapshots and switch between them:

Saving the email

Save commits your changes to the email draft. After you click save, you can close Pardot or navigate away from the email editor safely. The email draft will be available for others to edit in Marketing > Emails > Drafts.

Note: Switching between the Building, Testing, and Sending tab is just like clicking Save; however, the draft won't be available for others to edit until you navigate away from the email draft, or close the window.

Saving Templates

Saving templates works a little differently from saving emails. When you're working on a template that you haven't published yet, you'll be working on a template draft. You cannot use template drafts for emails -- you'll need to publish them before they're available for emails. You can find your drafts by navigating to Marketing > Emails > Templates and scrolling down to Drafts.

Snapshots

Snapshot saved every 30 seconds updates your current open session with changes every 30 seconds. This does NOT commit your changes to the template draft, but adds them to your recent snapshots for your session. + add snapshot adds a snapshot of your recent changes to your open session. You can add a snapshot manually by clicking History > + add snapshot.

This does NOT commit your changes to the template draft. Snapshots do NOT commit your changes to the template draft -- they are locally saved. If you are ready to commit your changes to your template draft, use Save Draft. If you are working on a previously published template, click Publish to Template to commit your changes to the template.

Save Draft

Save Draft commits your changes to your template draft and does not exit the editor. You can now close Pardot or navigate away from the template editor safely, and the email template draft will be available for editing in Marketing > Emails > Templates.

Note: Switching between the Building, Testing, and Sending tab is just like clicking Save; however, the email template draft won't be available for others to edit until you navigate away from the email draft, or close the window.

Note: If you have already published your template, you'll need to click Publish to Template to commit your changes to the template.

Publish to Template

When you create a new template, it is a template draft until it's published. Publishing your template makes it available for use with emails. To publish your template draft, click Publish to Template in the editor -- this will save your draft and make a published version available for emails.

Note: When you update a template, draft emails based on the template will not be updated to reflect the changes. If you're editing an email template that has already been published, clicking Publish to Template will commit your changes to the published template.

Clicking Save Draft in a published template only commits the changes to a new template draft -- if you want your changes to be available for use with emails, you must click Publish to Template.


Need more? Start a conversation with other Pardot users in our Success Community