Pardot Knowledge Base

Multiple Users Editing Emails and Templates

Last Updated: Oct 05, 2016 | Print this Article
 

If your organization has several users who edit emails or email templates, you may occasionally receive a message that another user already has the item open for editing. This article will walk you through why this happens and how to deal with it.

When a user has an email draft or email template draft open for editing, the draft becomes locked, and no one else can edit it until the user closes or navigates away from the email draft. A lock icon () will be visible next to the draft, and if you click into the draft, you will see a message with information about which user has the draft locked.

What if I need to edit an email or template draft but the draft is locked?

If a draft is locked for editing you have a few options:

  • Contact the user who has the draft locked and ask them to close the window or navigate away from the editor.
  • Contact your Pardot administrator and have them end the session and unlock the draft.
  • Locked drafts are released after 24 hours, so don't worry if you are unable to contact the user or have an admin unlock the draft for you.

Ending an Editing Session (Admins Only)

Admins can end an open editing session to unlock a draft for editing.

Warning: Ending an editing session will discard any unsaved changes. Make sure important changes have been saved by the user with the open editing session before ending the session.

There are two different ways Pardot admins can end a user's editing session:

From the email draft or email template draft:

  1. Navigate to the email or email template draft that is locked.
  2. In the alert box above the draft details, click the Click Here link.
  3. Locate the session you want to end, click the gear icon, then select End Session.
  4. Click OK in the popup. The session will end, and the draft will be available for editing.

This video walks through ending a session from the email or email template draft. Click to expand the video.

 

From User Management:

  1. Navigate to Admin > User Management > Editing Sessions.
  2. Locate the session you want to end, click the gear icon, then select End Session.
  3. Click OK in the popup. The session will end, and the draft will be available for editing.

This video walks through ending a session from User Management. Click to expand the video.

 


Need more? Start a conversation with other Pardot users in our Success Community