Pardot Knowledge Base

Archiving and Deleting Lists

Last Updated: Sep 22, 2016 | Print this Article
 

Lists are groups of prospects that can be used to send list emails or to build drips and Engagement Programs. This article covers how to delete or archive a list.

Deleting a List

Deleting a list places it in the Recycle Bin. Prospects who are associated with a deleted list will not be deleted, and they remain in the system. For help undeleting a list, see Undeleting Lists.

To delete a list, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to Marketing > Segmentation > Lists.
  2. Click the gear icon next to the list you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete.
Click here for video instructions (opens on same page).

Archiving a List

You can archive lists to clean up the number of lists displayed in your Segmentation window. Archiving a list moves it to the Archived List section of the Segmentation window on the date that you define. When a list is archived, you will not be able to add prospects to the list — however, you can still use the list for list emails, and automations will continue to work as expected.

The archived lists can be accessed by the dropdown menu in Segmentation window. Archiving older lists is helpful for filtering out time-based (for example, "May Campaign") campaigns that may not being used anymore. When a static list is archived, note that the list will no longer appear on a prospect's List Memberships page. Dynamic lists that have been archived will continue to appear.

To archive a list:

  1. Navigate to Marketing > Segmentation > Lists.
  2. Find the list you wish to archive, click the gear icon and then click Edit.
  3. In the Archive Date field, either manually enter in the date or select the date with the calendar icon.
  4. Click Save list.
This video walks through archiving lists. Click to expand the video.

Need more? Start a conversation with other Pardot users in our Success Community