Pardot Knowledge Base

When do leads sync with the CRM?

Last Updated: Jun 14, 2016 | Print this Article
 

Assigning a Prospect

Assigning a prospect to a user will create a new record in the CRM assigned to the corresponding user. If the record already exists in the CRM, it will instead sync, merging the data from Pardot with that from the CRM. Aside from Pardot-specific fields (score and grade for example), CRM data will always be considered the most up-to-date and used during the sync. This includes lead owner, which will always be determined by the CRM in the event of a conflict.

Clicking the Synchronize with CRM Link

Clicking this link on an assigned prospect that exists in both Pardot and the CRM will instantly sync, merging the data from Pardot with that from the CRM. Aside from Pardot-specific fields (score and grade for example), CRM data will always be considered the most up-to-date and used during the sync. This includes lead owner, which will always be determined by the CRM in the event of a conflict.

Syncing with Salesforce

Pardot checks for changes in Salesforce and in Pardot up to every 2 minutes. If you’re updating a large volume of records at a time, it may take longer for all of the changes to sync. For more information, review What Triggers a Sync with Pardot and your CRM?

Syncing with Other CRMs

Assigned prospects with new activities will be synced up to the CRM roughly every ten minutes. There is a cap on the number of prospects that can be synced per ten minutes. The sync task will simply run every ten minutes until it has synced every lead that has had a recent activity. You can see the current status of your sync queue by going to Admin > Connectors > Sync Queue within the Actions options for your CRM connector. For more details on exactly which new activities trigger a sync, refer to our "What Triggers a Sync with Pardot and your CRM" article.

Assigned prospects that have updated default field values (including the assigned owner) in the CRM will sync roughly every ten minutes, pushing the updates back to the Pardot record (since the CRM is the master in the event of a conflict in data). Custom field updates will also sync with the CRM, pushing those back to the Pardot record unless the option to have the Pardot value override the CRM value is enabled for that custom field.

Prospects that are not assigned in Pardot that have activities or updated records will also sync if there is a record in the CRM using the same email address. Please note that assigned prospects take higher priority for syncing than those that have not been assigned in Pardot. If there is not a record in the CRM using the same email address, the prospect in Pardot will not sync until it is assigned to a user (i.e., no new records in the CRM will be created until the prospect is assigned in Pardot).

Notes to Consider

Leads and Contacts with the same email address: If there is a lead and a contact in SugarCRM or Salesforce, the prospect in Pardot will sync with the contact by default.

Multiple Records: If your Pardot account does not allow allow multiple prospects with the same email address, and there are multiple lead records in SugarCRM or Salesforce with the same email address, the prospect in Pardot will only sync with one of them. If there are multiple leads or multiple contacts, the prospect in Pardot will sync with the first record we find (not necessarily the first created or last created record, but the first one we receive when we query the records).
If your Pardot account does allow multiple prospects with the same email address, Pardot will use CRM ID to match records for syncing.

Deleted or Merged CRM Records: When a record is deleted or merged in Salesforce or SugarCRM, Pardot is told to stop trying to sync the prospect (to prevent it from recreating the record in the CRM). It will only start syncing that prospect again if the CRM record is undeleted or a new record with the same email address is later created in the CRM. Please see here for other ways a prospect may be undeleted.

This is only the case if you already have a version of the CRM package with the delete trigger prior to deleting the CRM record. If a record is deleted before the trigger is installed, the records will be recreated by Pardot. To ensure the trigger is active, update your Salesforce account with our latest AppExchange package or SugarCRM here.

As of February 2013, you now have the option to turn on (via automation rule) syncing for prospects whose lead or contact CRM record was deleted.

For Pardot accounts with a verified Salesforce connector, when Salesforce records are merged different syncing results occur in Pardot depending on which record's email address remains the primary email. Visit How Email Changes in Salesforce Sync to Pardot for additional syncing scenarios when merging Salesforce records.


Need more? Start a conversation with other Pardot users in our Success Community