Pardot Knowledge Base

Users Overview

Last Updated: Sep 22, 2016 | Print this Article
 

This article covers how to manage users in Pardot, by giving each a role: administrator, marketing, sales manager, or sales. For a list of all default role permissions, see What roles should I select for my users?

Creating Users

  1. Navigate to Admin > User Management > Users.
  2. Click +Add User.
  3. Enter the user's First Name and Last Name.
  4. Enter the user's Email address. This will also serve as the login. Note: Email address must be unique — it cannot exist in another Pardot account or on a user record in the recycle bin. If you try to create a user with an email that exists already, you will receive the Please use an email address that does not already exist, can't create user​ error message. 
  5. Optional: enter Job Title, Phone, and URL. The URL field can be used for things like the user's LinkedIn or Twitter profiles. You can use variable tags to populate these fields in emails and templates. 
  6. Mark Send Activation Email to send an activation link to the new user. They will be prompted to select a password and a security question. You also have the option to disable the activation email from being sent right away. Activation emails links expire after 48 hours.
  7. Set the user's Time Zone.
  8. Optional: Choose a CRM Username. Note: If you've recently created a user in Salesforce, it may not appear in the CRM Username drop down. Reverify the Salesforce connector to pull in new Salesforce users.
  9. Choose the user's Role. (We have a set of default roles for all accounts, see What roles should I select for my users?, and our Ultimate accounts can create Custom user roles).
  10. When finished, click Create user to save.
Create New User

Resending Activation Emails

Activation emails expire after 48 hours. If some of your users have not activated their accounts and you need to send them new activation emails, use the checkboxes in the left column of the users table to select them and then select "Resend activation email" in the dropdown below the table.  The activation emails will only be sent to the users that have not already activated their accounts.

User Table

Enabling Single Sign-On

If you are a Salesforce or a SugarCRM user, you can enable single-sign on for your users. First, select the users. Second, select "Enable single sign-on with CRM" from the dropdown menu at the bottom of the table.  When successfully enabled, a blue wrench icon will appear next to the user's CRM username. More information on the single sign-on for: SalesforceSugarCRM.

Editing and Deleting Users

To Edit or Delete a user, simply click on the in-line links within the user table at any time.

Editing User Preferences

When you create your users, you can edit their user preferences by clicking Edit Preferences.
Most of these preferences will dictate what prospect and visitor alerts each user receives.

User Preferences

Viewing Individual User Records

You can view an individual user's record to see Contents, Prospects, Email, Recent Logins, and Usage. To access a user record, navigate to Admin > User Management > Users > click the user's name.

Contents

The Contents section includes links to edit the user, edit preferences, edit groups, assign to a different user and delete the user. This is also where you will see specific information regarding that particular user.  You can resend an activation link to an unactivated user or send a password reset email to an activated user.  If you are a Salesforce or SugarCRM user, you can also enable single sign-on (SSO) for your user.

User Account  

Prospects

In the Prospects table, you will see what prospects are assigned to that user. From this table, you can tag the prospect, add them to a list or export. This table will show prospect name, company, when they became a prospect, score, grade, and actions.

User Assigned Prospects  

Emails

In the Emails table, you can view emails that have been sent between that user and a prospect and/or list. This includes all list emails, one to one emails, email plugin emails, drip and Engagement Program emails and autoresponder emails. From this table you are also able to send a new email.

User Associated Emails

Recent Logins

Recent Logins shows the login history of the user. The table displays the date and time of the login attempt, the IP address the user attempted to log in from, and whether the user successfully logged in or not. It only counts the times a user actually logs in (goes to the login page and clicks the “Sign in” button), not when we “remember” them.

Recent Logins Table  

Usage

Usage shows you which marketing elements have completion actions assigning a prospect to or notifying this user. For example a form's action to assign prospects to this user or a custom redirect's action to notify this user will appear in this table. If you don't see a "Usage" table for the user, they are not being referenced in any marketing element's completion actions.

User Dependent Items    

User Role Security Limits

Security Limits allow you to limit the following, on a per-user basis:

  • Max number of emails the person can send
  • Max number of prospects the person can export
  • Max number of records someone can import

To manage the security limits for your users, navigate to your User Table.

  1. Navigate to Admin > User Management > Users
  2. Select the desired user from the User Table.
  3. Click the "Edit User" link at the top of the User Record
  4. Scroll down to manage security limits for your User
  5. Input the desired field values to set the security limits. Please note: a value of zero gives unlimited access. If you'd like to block access, consider inputting a value of 1. Security Limits
  6. Repeat for each user you'd like to limit

Importing Users

If you need to create a large number of users, you can upload a CSV file containing their information. See our Import Users article for more information.

Moving Users from One Account to Another

When creating new users or moving users between accounts, you may have received the Please use an email address that does not already exist error message. This is because user email addresses must be unique across all Pardot accounts. If you want to move users from one account to another or reuse an old email address for a new user, you'll need to take a few extra steps.

Before you begin:
If the old user is in the Recycle Bin, you must undelete them before you can follow these steps.

  1. Navigate Admin > User Management > Users and edit the old user's record.
  2. Scroll down to the user's email address and append text to the end of the address. We recommend being consistent, and adding something like +DELETED.
  3. Save the user record. The old email address will be available for use again, and you can safely delete the user record.
adding deleted to a user record

Notes

From the main user table under Admin > User Management > Users, email totals are calculated differently. This table includes all emails sent to lists, one to one emails, one-off test emails, test list emails, drip and Engagement Program emails and autoresponder emails. It also includes all emails created by a user, even if that user was not the sender. For example if a user creates an email and then sends it to two lists, their email total would rise by 3.


Need more? Start a conversation with other Pardot users in our Success Community