In NetSuite, there are two primary ways that you can remove a customer/contact from your views. You can inactivate the record or delete it. Each of these actions has slightly different implications when that lead is synced to a Pardot prospect. Here's more information about what Pardot does, so you can make the best decision about how to handle bad contacts or leads in NetSuite.
Inactivating a customer/contact
When a customer/contact is inactivated in NetSuite, it becomes hidden from the user's default tables. The intent is that if you have a list of qualified customers/contacts, and you discover that one of them is not actually a real prospect, you can hide them. Marking the customer/contact as inactive in NetSuite will remove them from your default tables and will remove the lead from your search results (unless, "Show Inactives" is checked).
If the customer/contact is linked to a Pardot prospect, we will not be able to sync with that inactivated customer/contact. Attempts to sync with an inactive record in NetSuite will result in a sync error.
It may be possible to define workflows in NetSuite that reactivate customer/contact after they have met certain criteria. However, Pardot does not reactivate leads that have been deactivated in the CRM.
Deleting a customer/contact
If a customer/contact is deleted in NetSuite, Pardot is no longer able to see them. NetSuite does not give any indication that a customer/contact is deleted, so there is currently no way for Pardot to know to stop attempting to sync with that email address. The next time we try to sync with that email address, our standard syncing process will first look for a Lead, then a Contact to sync with. Since we won't find a contact or a customer to sync with, we will create one. Deleted customers/contacts in NetSuite will be recreated the next time Pardot attempts to sync the prospect that was tied to them.
The best way to avoid recreating deleted records in NetSuite is to unassign the corresponding prospect in Pardot at the same time the customer/contact is deleted in NetSuite. Because an assigned user is required to create a new customer/contact in NetSuite, any attempt to sync up an unassigned prospect will fail to create the new customer/contact.
The best use case for deleting records in NetSuite is when more than one lead exists with the same email address. Once the customer/contact synced to Pardot is deleted, we will attempt to find a customer or contact with that email address in NetSuite--we will then begin syncing with that record, rather than the one that was deleted.
Need more? Start a conversation with other Pardot users in our Success Community